Major Archbishops of Syro Malabar Church

4. Major Archbishop Mar Raphael Thattil



- Auxiliary Bishop of Thrissur, Titular Bishop of Bruni (From 2010 to 2014)	

Highlights

- Apostolic visitor for the Syro-Malabar faithful residing outside the territorium proprium (2014 to 2017)

- First Bishop of the Syro-Malabar Catholic Eparchy of Shamshabad (07.01.2018 to 10.01.2024)

- Fourth Major Archbishop of Syro-Malabar Church (From 11.01.2024)

1	Date of Birth	21.04.1956
2	Parents	Ouseph and Thresia
3	Native parish	Thrissur
4	School education	St. Thomas College HS, Thrissur
5	Priestly Formation	St. Mary's Minor Seminary, Thope
6	Philosophical and theological studies	St. Thomas Ap. Seminary Kottayam
7	Priestly Ordination	21 December 1980 (by Mar Joseph Kundukulam in Thrissur Doloures Basilica)
8	Feast day	September 29
9	Posts held after priestly ordination	Asst. Vicar, Aranattukara (1981-82), Fr. Prefect & Asst. Procurator, St Mary's Minor Seminary (1982-83), Acting Vicar, Koonammoochy (1983), Acting Vicar, Cherumkuzhy (1983).
10	Doctorate	Doctorate in Oriental Canon Law from Rome.
11	Posts held after obtaining doctorate	Vice Chancellor in the Archbishop's house, Chancellor, Adj. Judicial Vicar, Judge and later as Syncellus and Proto-Syncellus. He was the director of DBCLC & Catechism (1992-1995). On 20 January1998, he was appointed as the project officer of the new Marymatha Major Seminary, after a few months appointed as the first Rector of the Marymatha Seminary (1998-2006). He also worked as president and member of many a committees and commissions.
12	Bishop	He was ordained as Bishop on 10 April 2010 and appointed as Auxiliary bishop of Trichur and Titular Bishop of Bruni. In 2014, he was appointed as Apostolic visitor for the Syro-Malabar faithful residing outside the territorium proprium. Pope Francis named him the first Bishop of the Syro-Malabar Catholic Eparchy of Shamshabad on 10 October 2017 and he was installed on 7 January 2018.
13	Major Archbishop	Elected by Synod on 08.01.2024, Enthronement on 11.01.2024.
14	Address	Syro-Malabar Major Archiepiscopal Curia Mount St. Thomas, P.B.No.3110 Kakkanad P.O., Kochi - 682 030 Kerala, India.

Biography

Major Archbishops of Syro Malabar Church

1. Cardinal Antony Padiyara, Major Archbishop

	Native place	Manimala
	Date of Birth	11.02.1921
	Priestly Ordination	19.12.1945
	Bishop in Ooty	16.10.1955
A Constant	Arch bishop in Changanachery	15.08.1970
A MARTIN	Arch bishop in Ernakulam	03.07.1985
	Cardinal	28.06.1988
	Major Arch bishop	16.12.1992
ing.	Date of Retirement	18.12.1996
	Died on	23.03.2000

2. Cardinal Varkey Vithayathil C.Ss.R, Major Archbishop

	Native place	North Parur
a second	Date of Birth	29.05.1927
	Priestly Ordination	12.06.1954
	Arch bishop	18.01.1997
	Major Arch bishop	23.12.1999
	Cardinal	21.02.2001
	Died on	01.04.2011

3. Cardinal George Alencherry, Major Archbishop



Native parish	Thuruthy in the Archdiocese of Changancherry
Date of Birth	19.04.1945
Priestly Ordination	18.12.1972
Bishop (in Thuckalay)	02.02.1997
Major Archbishop	29.05.2011 to 07.12.2023
Cardinal	18.02.2012